Ban Parity Open 2017

Apr 8 - 9, 2017
Tiruchirappalli, Tamil Nadu, India

National Institute of Technology

Tanjore Main Road, National Highway 67,Tiruchirappalli - 620015, Tamil Nadu, India

Barn Hall

Organization team
Karthikeyan Eswaran
WCA Delegates
Akula Pavan Kumar and Hari Anirudh

The link for the payment is in the payments tab. Registrations will only be accepted after payment has been made. There will be no on spot registrations at the door. Please register before the 2nd of April.
To ensure your registration is complete, the following instructions must be carried out.
1. Make your payment here under Ban Parity Open 2017 after reading the payment structure event wise carefully: PAY HERE
2. Register here on the WCA page for this competition under "Register" tab.
3. You will be sent a mail stating that your registration has been accepted once both the above steps have been carried out in order.

Main event
Registration period

Online registration opened and closed .

Registration requirements
This competition is over, click here to display the registration requirements it used.
Create a WCA account here if you don't have one.
If this is not your first competition, associate your WCA ID to your WCA account here.
Register for this competition here.
The base registration fee for this competition is ₹300 (Indian Rupee).
Click here to display the highlights of the competition.

Rakesh M. Vaideeswaran won with an average of 10.19 seconds in the 3x3x3 Cube event. Bhargav Narasimhan finished second (10.93) and Faiyaz Ahamed Fazil finished third (12.25).

Event Name Best Average Citizen of Solves
3x3x3 Cube Rakesh M. Vaideeswaran 8.69 10.19 India 8.699.739.3613.9511.47
2x2x2 Cube Bhargav Narasimhan 2.59 3.59 India 3.273.894.142.593.60
4x4x4 Cube Bhargav Narasimhan 38.70 44.74 India 41.7838.7046.5545.9048.47
3x3x3 Blindfolded Hari Anirudh 29.05 DNF India 29.05DNFDNF
3x3x3 One-Handed Bhargav Narasimhan 11.47 13.14 India 14.2613.0011.4714.3212.15
Clock Bhargav Narasimhan 11.09 13.18 India 13.3312.7213.4811.0914.72
Megaminx Bhargav Narasimhan 52.65 1:03.82 India 1:03.8752.651:04.991:05.631:02.60
Pyraminx Hari Anirudh 4.00 5.34 India
Square-1 Hari Anirudh 19.29 21.54 India 19.2923.5921.2631.1919.78
4x4x4 Blindfolded Abhijeet Ghodgaonkar 3:05.75 DNF India DNF3:05.75DNF
5x5x5 Blindfolded Karthikeyan Eswaran 27:55.00 DNF India 27:55.00DNSDNS
3x3x3 Multi-Blind Abhijeet Ghodgaonkar 16/20 1:00:00 India 16/20 1:00:00DNF
Event Round Format Time limit Cutoff Proceed
3x3x3 Cube First round Ao5 10:00.00
Second round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
2x2x2 Cube First round Ao5 10:00.00
Second round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
4x4x4 Cube First round Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 2:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
3x3x3 Blindfolded First round Bo3 10:00.00
Final Bo3 10:00.00
3x3x3 One-Handed First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Clock Final Ao5 10:00.00
Megaminx Final Ao5 10:00.00
Pyraminx First round Ao5 10:00.00
Final Ao5 10:00.00
Square-1 Final Bo2 / Ao5 10:00.00 2 attempts to get < 1:00.00
4x4x4 Blindfolded Final Bo3 20:00.00
5x5x5 Blindfolded Final Bo3 30:00.00
3x3x3 Multi-Blind Final Bo2 10:00.00 per cube, up to 60:00.00

Participants in MBLD please note, your 3x3s strictly have to be submitted for scrambling by 8:40 AM on both days. If not, you will not be permitted to participate in the attempt on said day.

*Square-1 Finals depends on the number of participants in round 1, and on the adherance to schedule on day 2

Day 1 (8th April)

Time Stage Offstage
08:00-09:00 Registration -
09:00-10:00 3x3 MBLD Attempt 1 -
10:00-11:00 3x3 OH Round 1 2x2 Round 1
11:00-11:30 Pyraminx Round 1 Pyraminx Round 1
11:30-12:30 4x4 BLD Combined Finals 3x3 BLD Round 1
12:30-1:00 Lunch -
1:00-3:00 3x3 Round 1 3x3 Round 1
3:00-3:45 Pyraminx Finals Square-1 Round 1*
3:45-4:45 4x4 Round 1 4x4 Round 1

Day 2 (9th April)

Time Stage Offstage
09:00-10:00 3x3 MBLD Attempt 2 -
10:00-11:00 3x3 Round 2 2x2 Round 2
11:00-12:00 Mega Combined Finals Clock Combined Finals
12:00-1:15 5x5 BLD Combined FInals -
1:15-1:45 Lunch -
1:45-2:15 Square-1 Finals* -
2:15-2:45 4x4 Finals -
2:45-3:15 3x3 BLD Finals -
3:15-3:45 3x3 OH Finals -
3:45-4:15 2x2 Finals -
4:15-4:45 3x3 Finals -
5:00-5:15 Prize distribution -

NIT Trichy is located on NH67 which links Trichy and Tanjore.

From Trichy airport, we recommend Ola cabs.
From TPJ railway station, take a bus from Central Bus Stand (5 minutes walk from the station) or Ola (would cost around 300).
From Central Bus Stand, take bus #128 (infrequent) and get off at NIT stop, or take a Tanjore bus (frequent) and get off at BHEL, from here take any bus stopping at NIT.
From Chatram Bus Stand, take any direct bus to NIT (many buses available, very frequent).

Since accomodation near the college is not available, we have compiled a list of affordable accomodation (close to the bus stands) below:

Krishna Lodge
Hotel Sathyam
Hotel Guru
JK Residency
Hotel Anbu Park
Hotel Shri Swarna's Palace

Time limit

If you reach the time limit during your solve, the judge will stop you and your result will be DNF (see Regulation A1a4).


The result to beat to proceed to the second phase of a cutoff round (see Regulation 9g).


The format describes how to determine the ranking of competitors based on their results. The list of allowed formats per event is described in Regulation 9b. See Regulation 9f for a description of each format.

Cookies help us deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.